National Curriculum, GCSE Subjects & Academic Performance

All students from Year 7 to 11 will study a selection of subjects from the national curriculum which is addition to the broad range of Islamic Sciences. This facilitates a student to progress from Year 7 onto the sixth form provisions to complete the GCSE and Aalima studies.

Please click on the following link to see the GCSE Results analysis;

Overview of GCSE Performance August 2018-2023

Jamia Al-Hudaa Performance DfE Website



Please Visit the 7 Year Aalimah Curriculum for information of subjects studied alongside the subjects below.

Below is a brief overview of subject areas and GCSE subjects that are delivered at the Jamia.

English Language & Literature

English is taught in form groups throughout the Key Stage 3 & 4. At the end of KS4, pupils are entered for two GCSE’s in English Language and English Literature (Currently under the AQA 9-1 format). The Jamia Library is open and available to use after school and supports the pupils’ development in literacy.

For further information about this specification, you may visit;



Science (Trilogy)

Science is taught in form groups throughout the KS3 & KS4. The curriculum in Science is spread across the 3 key areas; Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Pupils are currently studying and are entered for the AQA Science Trilogy exam which is equivalent to 2 GCSE’s. This is line with the Jamia’s target in regards to the English Baccalaureate Award.

for more information about the specification please visit;


As part of the broader curriculum and to support the English Baccalaureate Award, the pupils at Jamia currently study GCSE History from Year 9 and above. The latest 9-1 curriculum is delivered and includes a wide range of History as can be found in the detailed specification on the link below;

Religious Studies (Full Course)

Another subject which is taught up to GCSE level and forms part of the broader curriculum is Religious Studies. The Jamia currently delivers the latest specification which requires pupils to study at least two faiths and current ethical issues surrounding religion in modern times.

For more information about this specification, please visit;

English Baccalaureate (EBacc)

The EBacc is a school performance measure. It shows how many pupils study the core academic subjects at key stage 4 in state-funded and independent schools.

The entry measure shows the proportion of pupils who take GCSEs in the core subjects.
For 2017, the attainment measure shows how many pupils achieved both:
a grade 5 or above in English and maths GCSE
a grade C or above in science, a language, and geography or history

Modern Foreign Languages – Arabic

Arabic is a member of the Semitic language family, which also includes languages like Hebrew and Aramaic. The main feature of the Semitic languages is the three-letter root system.

Arabic today:
– Arabic nowadays is an official language in more than 20 countries.
– Arabic is the mother tongue of more than 300 million native speakers.
– It is spoken by more than 420 million around the world, coming at the 5th place between all languages.
– The language today is sacred to over one and a half billion Muslims around the world.

Studying the Arabic Language holds many benefits for pupils in terms of career pathways and a broader understanding of various world cultures.

Arabic Language lessons are delivered across year groups. The curriculum taught follows closely the Edexcel requirements in terms of Speaking & Listening, Writing, Reading and Comprehension expectations. Modern vocabulary and grammatical concepts are also taught in preparation for the GCSE examinations.

Further information about the latest specification can be found below;

Going further….

The Curriculum at the Jamia ensures that the pupils study more than just GCSE’s. The core aim is personal development to inspire the next generation of amazing citizens for our country and the wider global community.

The Jamia has a strategy in place to cover very important areas both directly and also in a more indirect cross-curricular manner. The strategy covers;

– SMSC – Social, Moral, Spiritual and cultural development
– Citizenship/FBV (Fundamental British Values)
– PHSE – Personal, social, health and economic education

– Main World religions including those with no faith
– SRE – Sex Relationship Education

In addition to this, the Jamia provides access to the following courses in relation to this area of development;


Pupils choose from an extensive list of 18 accredited level 2 Qualifications;

  1. An Induction to Boarding
  2. An Introduction to Communication Skills
  3. An Introduction to Customer Service
  4. An Introduction to Effective Team Work
  5. An Introduction to Finance; Budgeting
  6. An Introduction to Leadership
  7. An Introduction to Risk Assessment
  8. Child Protection – Refresher
  9. Child Protection in Education
  10. Preventing Bullying
  11. Safer Recruitment
  12. Supervisory Management
  13. Basic Food Hygiene
  14. First Aid Essentials
  15. Health & Safety in Education
  16. Personal Safety
  17. The Prevent Duty
  18. The SEND code of Practice